Kidscreen

iKids Summer 2014

Issue link: http://ikids.uberflip.com/i/328260

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 16 of 16

ikids_Summer 2014 17 Summer 2014 • Volume 3, Issue 2 vp & publisher Jocelyn Christie jchristie@brunico.com editorial Lana Castleman Editor & Content Director lcastleman@brunico.com Wendy Goldman Getzler Editor, iKids wgoldman@brunico.com Jeremy Dickson Features Editor jdickson@brunico.com Aaron Hutchins Senior Writer ahutchins@brunico.com Writers and Contributors Amanda Burgess (Toronto) Brendan Christie (Toronto) Robin Raskin (New York) Scott Traylor (Boston) business development and advertising sales (416) 408-2300, 1-800-KID-4512 Myles Hobbs Associate Publisher mhobbs@brunico.com Jonathan Abraham Account Manager jabraham@brunico.com Grace Li Marketing Coordinator gli@brunico.com creative Creative Manager Andrew Glowala aglowala@brunico.com Junior Art Director Kate Whelan kwhelan@brunico.com Production/Distribution Supervisor Robert Lines rlines@brunico.com audience services Director of Audience Services and Production Jennifer Colvin jcolvin@brunico.com Manager, Audience Services Christine McNalley cmcnalley@brunico.com corporate President & CEO Russell Goldstein rgoldstein@brunico.com VP & Editorial Director Mary Maddever mmaddever@brunico.com VP of Finance & Administration Linda Lovegrove llovegrove@brunico.com VP & Chief Information Officer Omri Tintpulver otintpulver@brunico.com VP & Realscreen Publisher Claire Macdonald cmacdonald@brunico.com Customer care To make a change to an existing subscription, please contact us by email: kidscreencustomercare@brunico.com Fax: 416.408.0249 Tel: 416.408.2448 Subscriptions iKids is published 4 times per year by Brunico Communications Ltd. Subscribe to iKids today at ikids.kidscreen.com Opinion columns appearing in iKids/Kidscreen do not necessarily reflect the views of the magazine or its parent company Brunico Communications Ltd. All letters sent to iKids/Kidscreen or its editors are assumed intended for publication. iKids/Kidscreen invites editorial comment, but accepts no responsibility for its loss, damage or destruction, howsoever arising, while in its offices, in transit or elsewhere. All material to be returned must be accompanied by a self-addressed, stamped envelope. Nothing may be reproduced in whole or in part without the written permission of the publisher. © Brunico Communications Ltd. 2014 ® Kidscreen is a registered trademark of Brunico Communications Ltd. to renowned children's television favorite, Mister Rogers, which is a great place to start the city's story. Every two years, a local event called FredForward honors the work and memory of Fred Rogers and brings together some of the greatest minds in children's media, child development, kid-focused policy initiatives and kid media moguls. In 2007, Gregg Behr, the executive direc- tor of The Grable Foundation, presented the idea of re-imagining Pittsburgh as Kids- burgh. Since then, the notion has gained attention and support from local businesses, community leaders and foundations that include the Benedum, Hillman, McCune, Pittsburgh and MacArthur foundations. Many more foundations in and around the Pitts- burgh area have endorsed this idea—and kidtech and largerly edtech-focused startups are starting to bloom. While on a somewhat smaller venture investment scale than Boulder and Kelowna (though it has three times the population of both cities), Pittsburgh has a noteworthy cen- tral organization called the The Sprout Fund that offers grants that range from US$1,000 to US$15,000 six times a year. The recipi- ent, usually a nonprofit organization, must collaborate with another local nonprofit or for-profit business to help carry out the idea that will advance the interests of early learning, STEAM education and digital technology. For its part, Carnegie Mellon encour- ages entrepreneurship through CMU faculty and students, making it easier for them to spin off their own tech busi- nesses. The university implemented a technology transfer program that allows faculty and student spin offs to use intel- lectual property owned by the school for a 5% stake in the startup's future success. Looking around the Pittsburgh area, it's an incredibly successful program that spawned a record 36 new companies in 2013 alone. Here are some notable new- comers to Kidsburgh: BirdBrain Technologies sells elec- tronics kits where kids combine arts & crafts materials to create their own programmable robots. BirdBrain is also a Carnegie Mellon spinoff. At press time, BirdBrain just launched a Kickstarter campaign for its new electronics kit, the Hummingbird Duo, and has already raised half of its goal. Digital Dream Labs mixes programming and video game controls. Digital Dream Labs developed physical puzzle pieces that are placed strategically on a holding tray. Each puzzle piece contains instructions that are sent wirelessly to a tablet or mobile device to control a videogame. All three Digital Dream Labs founders are Carnegie Mellon graduates. Zulama is an online community for teens that helps teach design, programming and art creation for videogames. Zulama also develops many high-interest online courses in subjects about which teens are passionate. GenevaMars develops story-based, character-driven learning apps that are fun and educational for kids. Its team is made up of artists, producers and educators from Carnegie Mellon, the University of Pittsburgh and the Art Institute of Pittsburgh. While Scott Traylor is the CEO and founder of 360KID, a youth-focused organization that specializes in developing interactive media for children, he is currently exploring larger business ideas in the kidtech space, and looks forward to future conversations with like-minded entrepreneurs and investors. His email is scott@360kid.com. DIY meets robotics thanks to Pittsburgh-based BirdBrain Technologies

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Kidscreen - iKids Summer 2014