Kidscreen

iKids Winter 2014

Issue link: http://ikids.uberflip.com/i/256411

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 15 of 15

ikids_Winter 2014 16 Winter 2014 • Volume 3, Issue 1 vp & publisher Jocelyn Christie jchristie@brunico.com editorial Lana Castleman Editor & Content Director lcastleman@brunico.com Wendy Goldman Getzler Editor, iKids wgoldman@brunico.com Jeremy Dickson Features Editor jdickson@brunico.com Gary Rusak Senior Writer grusak@brunico.com Writers and Contributors Amanda Burgess (Toronto) Elizabeth Grant (Toronto) business development and advertising sales (416) 408-2300, 1-800-KID-4512 Myles Hobbs Associate Publisher mhobbs@brunico.com Jonathan Abraham Account Manager jabraham@brunico.com Vakis Boutsalis Marketing Coordinator vboutsalis@brunico.com creative Creative Manager Andrew Glowala aglowala@brunico.com Junior Art Director Kate Whelan kwhelan@brunico.com Production/Distribution Supervisor Robert Lines rlines@brunico.com audience services Director of Audience Services and Production Jennifer Colvin jcolvin@brunico.com Manager, Audience Services Christine McNalley cmcnalley@brunico.com corporate President & CEO Russell Goldstein rgoldstein@brunico.com VP & Editorial Director Mary Maddever mmaddever@brunico.com VP of Finance & Administration Linda Lovegrove llovegrove@brunico.com VP & Chief Information Officer Omri Tintpulver otintpulver@brunico.com VP & Realscreen Publisher Claire Macdonald cmacdonald@brunico.com Customer care To make a change to an existing subscription, please contact us by email: kidscreencustomercare@brunico.com Fax: 416.408.0249 Tel: 416.408.2448 Subscriptions iKids is published 4 times per year by Brunico Communications ltd. Subscribe to iKids today at ikids.kidscreen.com Opinion columns appearing in iKids/Kidscreen do not necessarily reflect the views of the magazine or its parent company Brunico Communications ltd. All letters sent to iKids/Kidscreen or its editors are assumed intended for publication. iKids/Kidscreen invites editorial comment, but accepts no responsibility for its loss, damage or destruction, howsoever arising, while in its offices, in transit or elsewhere. All material to be returned must be accompanied by a self-addressed, stamped envelope. Nothing may be reproduced in whole or in part without the written permission of the publisher. © Brunico Communications ltd. 2014 ® Kidscreen is a registered trademark of Brunico Communications ltd. be currenT Content needs to naturally appeal to the demo- graphics of the target audience. The internet moves at a phenomenal speed and what's hot today can rapidly become yesterday's news. ensure you're up to date on the needs of young people. Vloggers spend hours each day chatting to their followers, recording vlogs and researching their topic of expertise to ensure that they are staying ahead of the pack. be TrAnSPArenT Tweens and teens are bombarded by brand messaging and ads, so they don't want You- Tube videos to be overly commercial, too. recently, there have been talks to introduce stricter rules around Vlogger activity by the Advertising Standards Authority in the UK. Although most Vloggers are upfront when it comes to stating which products have been endorsed by sponsors, others can be more vague and therefore open the floodgates to an abuse of trust. SuMMInG uP… Young people are growing up in a society where social media usage is second nature. The ever-growing popularity of social media sites such as YouTube, Facebook and Twitter— and their incoming competitors—provides brands with a greater opportunity than ever to take these key ingredients and produce a recipe for a successful campaign. Findings in this article are sourced from Plan- et Media—The Kids Space series of reports published by Platypus. For more information on how to purchase this report or any other report in the Kids Space series please email general@platypusresearch.com. Base; 1000 young people aged 8-16 years old. Figures obtained from YouTube on 20.12/2013. Most popular amongst kids taking part in our survey. Most popular Vloggers Channel Description Number of YouTube followers Pewdiepie Comedy/gaming 18,277,709 Yogscast Gaming 6,402,435 The Syndiate Project Gaming 6,310,438 KSI Comedy/gaming 4,465,767 Zoella Beauty 3,255,060 Jacksgap Comedy/travel 3,100,755 Danisnotonfire Comedy 2,961,918

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Kidscreen - iKids Winter 2014